Diocese of Leeds

We are the Church of England across West Yorkshire and the Dales. We’re a Christian presence in every community across the area.

The Diocese of Leeds came into existence at Easter 2014 following the dissolution of the former dioceses of Bradford, Ripon & Leeds, and Wakefield. It covers the whole of West Yorkshire, the western part of North Yorkshire, and small parts of South Yorkshire, Lancashire, and County Durham.

The Diocese of Leeds is one of the largest dioceses in England and its creation in 2014 was unprecedented in the history of the Church of England. It covers an area of around 2,425 square miles, housing a population of around 2,642,400.

The Diocese has around 600 church buildings in 444 parishes and 239 Church of England schools and academies.

The Diocese is led by the Bishop of Leeds (The Rt Revd Nick Baines), is split into five episcopal areas which are each led by a Bishop (Bradford, Huddersfield, Leeds, Ripon and Wakefield), and has three Cathedrals
(Bradford, Ripon and Wakefield).

There are currently no events.
There are currently no events.
There are currently no events.
Skip to content